Diana Witt: 2018 Hines Award Recipient

Diana Witt, 2018
Hines Award Winner

Diana Witt will receive the 2018 Theodore C. Hines Award for exceptional service to ASI at "Indexers Rock!" the annual conference in Cleveland, Ohio, on Friday, April 27.

Diana joined ASI in 1969, the year after it was founded, and has been actively involved with the Society ever since. Her service at the national level includes three terms as ASI President (in three different decades), and at least two terms as a Board member-at-large. Diana has also chaired or served on a host of other ASI committees, including the Strategic Planning Committee and Training Course Committee, and served several years as Chapter Liaison. She has also held leadership roles in both the Twin Cities Chapter and the Southeast Chapter, for which she is a co-founder.

While her formal contributions to ASI clearly exemplify Diana’s worthiness for this award, letters of nomination also stressed the intangibles: “Diana truly shines when it comes to member recruitment, development, and mentorship… When I talk to these new recruits, it is obvious that Diana is a walking advertisement for our profession as a viable one, and that she is a phenomenal talent-spotter, always on the lookout for someone with the necessary skills and disposition for indexing.” Another nominator also endorsed this characteristic: “Her encouragement of new (and experienced) indexers is a great gift. She has a way of assuring indexers that their instincts are correct and that in our field there is no ‘one’ right way.” Diana Witt is in every way deserving of ASI’s highest honor. Congratulations, Diana!

Comments are closed.