ASI 2021 Conference Program “Get Your Indexing Shot in the Arm”

2021 Conference Program

Get Your Indexing Shot in the Arm

This meeting will be held virtually via Zoom. Scroll down to register.

April 30–May 1, 2021

Pacific Time: 10 AM to 1:30 PM
Mountain Time: 11 AM to 2:30 PM
Central Time: 12 PM to 3:30 PM
Eastern Time: 1 PM to 4:30 PM

Thursday, April 29

Pre-Conference New Indexers Workshop with Fred Leise

Friday, April 30

10:00 AM, Pacific / 1:00 PM, Eastern
You Can Do It! Maximize Your Data-entry Efficiency! Connie Binder
Freelance indexers are usually paid piecemeal, whether by the page, word, or project. An easy way to increase your income is to increase your speed. The more work you can do, the more money you make (or the more free time you have!). This session will explore time-saving data entry tips, including importing lists of terms, as well as using abbreviations/acronyms, macros, indexing software functions, and keyboard shortcuts. You will feel absolutely brilliant as you put into practice the seemingly magical tricks that you learn.

15 MINUTE BREAK and NETWORKING

11:15 AM, Pacific / 2:15 PM, Eastern
Indexing Without a Client—the Mueller Report Peter Rooney and Julia Rooney
An important government document, known as the Mueller Report, was issued without an index. Several commercial publishers prepared their own editions, all without indexes. The presenter [Peter Rooney] then decided to create and publish an index on his own account. Rooney will discuss the merits of self-sponsored indexing and outline the process. The resulting index has been placed online in a dedicated web page (MuellerReportIndex.net), and an app has been created to display it interactively while reading the Report. The team will discuss the potential of this approach for creating, displaying, and publicizing indexes.

15 MINUTE BREAK and NETWORKING

12:30 PM, Pacific / 3:30 PM, Eastern
Forget the Theme: Mind the Variations Daniel Heila
The presentation will address the elasticity and variation of terms and concepts within historical, theoretical, and biographical musical literature that may present challenges to accurate indexing. The focus will be on classical music. Issues addressed will include:

  • Music history
    • music era designation and its asynchronous relationship to other arts
    • same term, different era, different usage
  • Music theory
    • note value and time signature terminology
    • harmonic concepts through history
    • instrument families
  • Music biography (composers)
    • division of life of artist, differing approaches
    • member of what schools, differing opinions
    • name spelling variants

Each section will start with a brief explanation, followed by examples.

1:45 PM, Pacific / 4:45 PM, Eastern
HAPPY HOUR
Grab your favorite libation and come chat with your fellow indexers. Let's celebrate the wonder of indexing by sharing some of the favorite things we have learned from our projects. Party hats are encouraged but not required!

Saturday, May 1

10:00 AM, Pacific / 1:00 PM, Eastern
The Order of Things: Indexing Then and Now Michele Combs
Most people know what we mean when we talk about alpha males and B-sides of records, but did you ever wonder when humans shifted from sorting things hierarchically to sorting them alphabetically, or how it was that three thousand years elapsed between the invention of the alphabet and its application to information organization? Come find out at this session on the history and origins of indexing, after which you'll be able to amaze your friends and family with fascinating trivia!

15 MINUTE BREAK and NETWORKING

11:15 AM, Pacific / 2:15 PM, Eastern
Embedded Indexing: Tackling the Enigma Heather Pendley and Devon Thomas
As more publishers and authors turn to digital publishing, more indexers are being asked about creating embedded indexes, whether in Word, InDesign, or markup languages like XML and AsciiDoc. While many indexers are comfortable with these formats, others don't know where to begin and/or feel intimidated by the technical requirements. This high level presentation will elucidate how embedded indexing differs from back-of-the-book in terms of both the book production and indexing processes. It will include examples of several kinds of embedded indexes and a quick overview of some of the tools used in creating them. While the session is geared for indexers who are unfamiliar with embedded indexing, it is hoped that experienced indexers will learn something new, as well contribute to the discussion.

15 MINUTE BREAK and NETWORKING

12:30 PM, Pacific / 3:30 PM, Eastern
Inside The Accidental Indexer Nan Badgett
This presentation will discuss themes from The Accidental Indexer—including marketing, work management, and work-life balance—to help new and experienced indexers move their business forward. It includes tips and strategies based on material from the book, other outside sources, and anecdotes from the author's own experience.

Your registration includes all six sessions. Program is subject to change without notice. To ensure you receive the meeting link, please register no later than 5 p.m. Eastern time on Wednesday, April 28.

Early rates: ASI Members: $129 | Non-members: $179
After April 23: ASI Members: $149 | Non-members: $199

ASI members, log in to get this great rate!

ASI members, please log in to the website for member pricing.

Please purchase using your email address on file: Guest