Call for Nominations for 2023 Hines Award

Nominations Due March 10, 2023

Call for Hines Nominations

ASI's Theodore C. Hines Award recognizes those who have made exceptional contributions to ASI and to the indexing profession. The deadline for submitting a nomination for the 2023 award is March 10, 2023. Please consider making a nomination for ASI's highest service honor!

Hines Award nominees should demonstrate a long-term and ongoing commitment to ASI and the indexing profession through service as an officer, as a board member, or in other leadership roles at the national level and/or within Chapters and SIGs. Other contributions worthy of note include active participation in national and regional conferences, web site management, publications, committees, educational activities, etc.

To submit a nomination, send a letter by email to the Hines Award Committee, documenting the reasons the nominee is worthy of consideration. The person submitting the nomination should also solicit additional letters of recommendation that may be sent directly to the committee. The nomination letter and recommendation letters combined should demonstrate the breadth and length of service. All letters should discuss in detail, to the best of the writer’s knowledge, the contributions the nominee has made to ASI. Letters from people who have known the nominee in different roles are helpful and provide a fuller picture of the nominee’s service. Rules and procedures for submitting nominations are available on the ASI website here.

The award, if given, will be presented at the ASI Annual Meeting in May. While the nomination process is open every year, the award is only given in years when the nomination and recommendation letters together demonstrate that a nominee has made exceptional contributions to ASI.

Note that the Hines judging process is confidential. Nominees should not be informed that they are being nominated; nor should that information be publicly revealed online prior to the judging.

Kendra Millis is chair of the Hines Committee and the 2020 Hines Award recipient. Also serving are Fred Leise, 2019 Hines Award recipient, and Janet Perlman, 2006 Hines Award recipient.

Comments are closed.